Countries eligible for support

in page functions

53 countries are currently eligible for Gavi support based on a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita below or equal to US$ 1,570. Gavi sets conditions for each type of support

Gavi aims to focus its support on the world's poorest countries. Eligibility is therefore determined by national income with all countries with a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita below or equal to US$ 1,570 (according to World Bank data for the latest available year) qualifying for support.

There are currently 53 Gavi-eligible countries. However, not all of these countries qualify for every type of support because Gavi sets conditions for each type of support.

Support is provided in response to country proposals, which are reviewed by an independent group of experts - mostly health officials from developing countries.

Countries eligible for Gavi new vaccines support in 2014

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Dem Republic of
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Korea, DPR
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lao PDR
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Rwanda
  • São Tomé e Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Republic of Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Viet Nam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Countries eligible for Gavi support
Source: Gavi, 2014 

GAVI eligible countries map


Eligibility in Gavi throughout the years

Download eligibility policy

In Gavi phase 1 from 2000 to 2006, the GNI per capita eligibility threshold was US$ 1,000 (based on 1998 World Bank data). Seventy-four countries were initially eligible for Gavi support. In 2002, Timor-Leste was added to the list of eligible countries as it became an independent state.

In Gavi phase 2 from 2007 to 2010, country eligibility was based on the World Bank GNI per capita data for 2003. The eligibility threshold was maintained at the initial level of US$ 1,000.

The updated GNI data meant four countries (Albania, China, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Turkmenistan) surpassed the threshold while another (Kiribati) dropped below it. This reduced the number of countries eligible for Gavi support in phase 2 to 72.

As of 1 Jan 2011, the threshold is adjusted for inflation annually. For 2014, countries are eligible for Gavi support if their GNI is equal or less than U$1,570. Currently there are 53 eligible countries.

More on this topic

close icon

modal window here