



SUBJECT: NO-OBJECTION CONSENT DECISIONS

Agenda item: 01d

**Category:** For information

Since the June 2017 Board meeting, three decisions have been circulated to the Board electronically for approval by no-objection consent in line with Articles 2.7.3.2 and 2.7.3.4 of the By-Laws.

1) On 13 August 2017, Board members were invited to consider **approval of the 2016 Annual Financial Report**.

No objections were received prior to the end of 23 August 2017 and the following decision was therefore entered into the record:

"In accordance with article 2.7.3.2 of the By-Laws, on a no-objection basis the Gavi Alliance Board:

- Approved the Gavi Alliance 2016 Annual Financial Report"
- 2) On 21 September 2017, Board members were invited to consider approval of the appointment of members of the Market-Sensitive Decisions Committee.

No objections were received prior to the end of 3 October 2017 and the following decision was therefore entered into the record:

"In accordance with article 2.7.3.4 of the By-Laws, on a no-objection basis, the Gavi Alliance Board:

<u>Appointed</u> the following to the Market-Sensitive Decisions Committee effective immediately:

- Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala (Board Chair) until 31 December 2019.
- Gunilla Carlsson (Board Member) until 31 December 2018.
- Shanelle Hall (Board Member) until 31 December 2019.
- Tim Evans (Board Member) until 31 December 2019.
- Violaine Mitchell (Alternate Board Member) until 31 December 2019.
- Felix Kabange (Alternate Board Member) until 31 December 2018.
- Daniel Graymore (Board Member) until 31 December 2019.
- Jean-Francois Pactet (Board Member) until 31 December 2018.



- Irene Koek (Alternate Board Member) until 30 June 2019.
- Clarisse Loe Loumou (Board Member) until 30 June 2019.
- David Sidwell (Board Member, AFC Chair) until 31 December 2017.
- Richard Sezibera (Board Member, PPC Chair) until 31 December 2017.
- Seth Berkley (CEO, non-voting).

## 3) On 6 October 2017, Board members were invited to consider approval of the appointment of members of the Board and Board Committees.

No objections were received prior to the end of 18 October 2017 and the following decision was therefore entered into the record:

"In accordance with article 2.7.3.4 of the By-Laws, on a no-objection basis, the Gavi Alliance Board:

## a) Appointed the following Board Members:

- Oyewale Tomori as Board Member representing the research and technical health institutes constituency in the seat currently held by Samba O. Sow effective immediately and until 31 December 2020.
- Megan Cain as Board Member representing Canada on the donor constituency anchored by Canada in the seat currently held by Amy Baker effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2018.
- Yifru Berhan Mitke of Ethiopia as Board Member representing the developing country constituency in the seat currently held by Ummy Ally Mwalimu of Tanzania effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020
- **Jean-François Pactet** as Board Member representing France on the donor constituency anchored by Germany in the seat currently held by Jan Paehler effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2018.

## b) Reappointed the following Board Members:

- **Bahar Idriss Abugarda** of Sudan as Board Member representing the developing country constituency effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.
- Myint Htwe of Myanmar as Board Member representing the developing country constituency effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.
- **David Sidwell** as an Unaffiliated Board Member effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.

## c) <u>Appointed</u> the following Alternate Board Members:

 Mahima Datla as Alternate Board member to Sai Prasad representing the vaccine industry developing countries in the seat which is currently vacant effective immediately and until 31 December 2020.



- **Kate O'Brien** as Alternate Board member to Oyawale Tomori representing the research and technical health institutes constituency in the seat currently held by Brad Gessner effective immediately and until 31 December 2020.
- **Kwaku Agyeman-Manu** of Ghana as Alternate Board member to Yifru Berhan Mitke of Ethiopia representing the developing country constituency in the seat currently held by Yifru Berhan Mitke of Ethiopia effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.
- Harriet Ludwig as Alternate Board member to Jean-François Pactet representing Germany on the donor constituency anchored by Germany in the seat currently held by Jean-François Pactet effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2018.
- **Michael Kent Ranson** as Alternate Board member to Tim Evans representing the World Bank in the seat currently held by Rama Lakshminarayanan effective 1 January 2018 and until his successor is appointed and qualified.
- Saira Afzal Tarar of Pakistan as Alternate Board member to Bahar Idriss Abugarda of Sudan representing the developing country constituency in the seat currently held by Muhammad Ayub Sheikh of Pakistan effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.
- d) Reappointed the following Alternate Board Members:
  - Angela Santoni as Alternate Board Member to Megan Cain representing Italy on the donor constituency anchored by Canada effective 1 January 2018 and until 31 December 2018.
  - Bounkong Syhavong of Lao PDR as Alternate Board Member to Myint
    Htwe representing the developing country constituency effective 1
    January 2018 and until 31 December 2020.
- e) <u>Appointed</u> the following to the Governance Committee effective 1 January 2018:
  - **Gunilla Carlsson** (Board Vice Chair and Governance Committee Chair) statutorily appointed
  - Bahar Idriss Abugarda (Board Member) until 31 December 2019
  - Megan Cain (Board Member) until 31 December 2018
  - Tim Evans (Board Member) until 31 December 2019
  - Blair Exell (Board Member) until 30 June 2019
  - Orin Levine (Board Member) until 31 December 2019
  - Clarisse Loe Loumou (Board Member) until 30 June 2019
  - Sai Prasad (Board Member) until 30 June 2019
  - William Roedy (Board Member) until 31 July 2018
  - Harriet Ludwig (Alternate Board Member) until 31 December 2018
  - **Seth Berkley** (Board Member, non-voting)



- f) <u>Appointed</u> the following to the Investment Committee effective 1 January 2018:
  - Stephen Zinser (Board Member) until 31 December 2019
  - Yifei Li (Board Member) until 30 June 2018
  - William Roedy (Board Member) until 31 July 2018
  - David Sidwell (Board Member) until 31 December 2019
  - Matthias Reinicke (Committee Delegate) until 31 December 2019
- g) <u>Appointed</u> the following to the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective 1 January 2018:
  - Craig Burgess (Alternate Board Member) until 30 June 2019
  - Mira Johri (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2019
- h) <u>Reappointed</u> the following to the Evaluation Advisory Committee effective 1 January 2018:
  - Zulfiqar A. Bhutta (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2019
  - Jeanine Condo (Independent Expert) until 31 December 2019