Countries eligible for support

in page functions

47 countries will be eligible to apply for Gavi support in 2018 based on a Gross National Income (GNI) per capita below or equal to US$ 1,580 on average over the past three years. Gavi sets conditions for each type of support.

Gavi aims to focus its support on the world's poorest countries with national incomes determining eligibility.

Countries are eligible to apply for Gavi support when their Gross National Income (GNI) per capita is below or equal to US$ 1,580 on average over the past three years (according to World Bank data published every year on 1 July).

Each type of Gavi support has certain conditions countries have to fulfil in order to be eligible to apply. Country applications are reviewed by an independent group of experts in routine immunisation, health system strengthening, epidemiology and disease control, cold chain and logistics, financial and budget analysis, and gender and equity.

Countries whose average GNI per capita over the previous three years crosses the Gavi eligibility threshold enter the accelerated transition phase and start phasing out of Gavi support. Based on the Gavi Board decision in November 2013, Gavi’s policy for countries in transition have been adjusted to allow the following:

  • Countries entering the accelerated transition phase will have one additional year (“grace year”) to apply for new vaccine support.
  • Countries in the accelerated transition phase with DTP3 (three doses of diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis vaccine) coverage below 90% (WHO/UNICEF estimates for the previous year) are entitled to apply for health system strengthening support for the duration of the accelerated transition phase.

Countries eligible to apply for Gavi new vaccines support in 2018

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo, Dem Republic of
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Kenya
  • Korea, DPR
  • Kyrgyz Republic
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Pakistan
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe (grace year)
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • Republic of Sudan
  • South Sudan
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Countries eligible to apply for Gavi support in 2018
Source: Gavi, 2017  

Gavi eligible countries map

Gavi eligibility since 2000

Download eligibility and transition policy

In Gavi phase I from 2000 to 2006, the GNI per capita eligibility threshold was US$ 1,000 (based on 1998 World Bank data). Seventy-four countries were initially eligible to apply for Gavi support. In 2002, Timor-Leste was added to the list of eligible countries when it became an independent state.

In Gavi phase II from 2007 to 2010, country eligibility was based on the World Bank GNI per capita data for 2003. The eligibility threshold was maintained at the initial level of US$ 1,000.

The updated GNI data meant four countries (Albania, China, Bosnia & Herzegovina, and Turkmenistan) surpassed the threshold while another (Kiribati) dropped below it. This reduced the number of countries eligible to apply for Gavi support in phase II to 72.

Since 1 Jan 2011, the threshold is adjusted for inflation annually.

In June 2015, the Board adopted Gavi’s new eligibility and transition policy. This states that countries’ eligibility will be determined by their average GNI per capita over the previous three years.

close icon

modal window here