Transition process

in page functions

In 2016, sixteen countries are in the process of transitioning out of Gavi support while five have reached the end of Gavi support and will be fully self-financing vaccines

Gavi’s support is based on countries’ ability to pay and intends to put countries on a trajectory towards financial sustainability. Countries co-financing obligations rise as their national income grows until they reach a threshold after which Gavi support is phased out over a five-year period. At the end of this process, countries are fully self-financing vaccines.

Gavi co-financing per phase


Countries are eligible to apply for new vaccine support from Gavi when their Gross National Income (GNI) per capita is below or equal to $1,580 on average over the previous three years. Countries must also fulfil a number of criteria depending on the vaccine they are applying for, as described in the application guidelines.

Gavi’s health strengthening support (HSS) is offered following the same income criteria as for vaccines. Additional criteria specific to countries in the accelerated transition phase are presented below.

New approach to transition

In November 2013, the Gavi Board agreed to strengthen Gavi’s approach to transition (formerly referred to as “graduation”) to support countries in the accelerated transition phase. This will contribute to the financial and programmatic sustainability of countries' immunisation programmes once Gavi support phases out.

According to this new approach, countries entering the accelerated transition phase have one additional year (“grace year”) to apply for Gavi new and underused vaccines support (NVS) and can access time-limited investments to support their transition plans.

HSS support is also available to countries with DTP3 (three doses of diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis vaccine) coverage below 90% and can be provided until they become fully self-financing.

Countries phasing out from Gavi support

Each year, some countries enter the accelerated transition phase and start phasing out from Gavi support, as their GNI per capita on average over the previous three years increases beyond the eligibility threshold (set at US$1,580 in 2015).

In 2016, sixteen countries are in the accelerated transition phase. The Vaccine Alliance remains actively engaged throughout this phase to identify potential bottlenecks for successful transitions and support critical interventions that will mitigate them.

Countries in the accelerated transition phase in 2016

In 2016, five countries (Bhutan, Honduras, Mongolia, Sri Lanka and Ukraine) have reached the end of Gavi support and are fully self-financing vaccines. Gavi ensures support access to appropriate pricing so that these countries can sustain their immunisation programmes and continue to introduce high-quality, life-saving vaccines. They may therefore choose to benefit from manufacturers offering Gavi or similar prices for specific vaccines for 5 years after they have reached being fully self-financed.

Access to pneumococcal vaccines

Countries that have passed the eligibility threshold can still apply for pneumococcal vaccines through Gavi and UNICEF at the terms and conditions of the Advance Market Commitment (AMC). The vaccine price that these countries will pay under the AMC is determined by the AMC “tail price” and is set at a maximum of US$ 3.50 per dose. Countries that have not yet applied for pneumococcal vaccines and therefore meet these criteria are: Bhutan, Cuba, Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Ukraine and Vietnam. A simplified application process will apply.


Every 2 minutes

One woman dies from cervical cancer every two minutes – or 266,000 a year – over 80% in developing countries. If current trends hold, and without changes in prevention and control, cervical cancer deaths could eventually outpace maternal deaths. HPV vaccines can prevent up to 90% of all cervical cancer cases.


More facts...

close icon

modal window here